Thursday, July 16, 2015

Book Review: F Train by Richard Hilary Weber



F Train



In a fast-paced thriller perfect for readers of Kathy Reichs and Linda Fairstein, dedicated Brooklyn cop Flo Ott unravels the mystery of a terrifying mass murder–from the cold underbelly of New York to the city’s glittering heights.

Beneath Brooklyn’s wintry streets, seven people are dead, slumped in their seats on an F train. Fast thinking and good fortune prevent the subway car doors from opening, spilling poisonous gas into the station. It’s not long before a frightened metropolis of eight million demands answers: if this was an act of terror, where will these cruel killers strike next? NYPD detective Flo Ott looks closely at the victims. Each of their stories leads to another, one more colorful and complex than the last. A few of these quintessential New Yorkers catch Flo’s attention: a mysterious off-duty FBI agent; the beautiful woman next to him, who may have been his lover. Then there’s a Russian mobster with more than his fair share of enemies. As Flo battles false leads, conflicting witnesses, and meddling politicians, her investigation delves into the dark side of the city that never sleeps. Flo becomes convinced that this wasn’t a random act of violence, and she fears something much worse may be rumbling down the tracks.

Publication Date: June 23, 2015
Publisher: Alibi
Formats: eBook
Pages: 159
Genre: Thriller

The Review

It's the early hours of the morning when retired fbi agent, Raymond OHara, discovers seven people dead on the F Train. It's only his quick thinking that saves a poisonous gas escaping the carriage and killing many more. Detective Florence Ott (Flo) is tasked with finding the person or persons responsible. Is it a terror attack, something to do with a member of the Russian mafia onboard, or even a man on the train with a woman who isn't his wife?

I really enjoyed this, well written who-done-it, and I will be looking out for the next in the Florence Ott series. I give it four stars out of five.

- Reviewed by Yolanda D.


Get Your Copy At:
Amazon  |  B&N  |  iBooks
Google Play  |  BAM  |  Kobo

Meet the Author
Richard Hilary Weber, a native of Brooklyn and a Columbia University graduate, has taught at the universities of Stockholm and Copenhagen, and has been a scriptwriter for French and Swedish filmmakers. He lives in Provence, France.

Connect with the Author:
_______________________________________________________


Read Books & Benches FTC Disclosure for Reviews and Review Policy.

No comments:

Post a Comment