Monday, April 27, 2015

A Reader's Opinion: "This Gun for Hire" by Jo Goodman

"Perfectly crafted"—PW (starred review) 
Jo Goodman, a premier writer of western romance and the author of In Want of a Wife, is back with a sensational new novel for fans of Linda Lael Miller and Joan Johnston.





The Book
He’s got a job to do…

Former army cavalryman Quill McKenna takes pride in protecting the most powerful man in Stonechurch, Colorado: Mr. Ramsey Stonechurch himself. But the mine owner has enemies, and after several threats on his life, mines, and family, Quill decides to hire someone to help guard the boss’s daughter. Only problem is the uncontrollable attraction he feels toward the fiery-haired woman who takes the job. 

…but she’s a piece of work. 


Calico Nash has more knowledge of scouting and shooting than cross-stitching, but she agrees to pose as Ann’s private tutor while protecting her. But between her growing attraction to Quill and the escalating threats against the Stonechurches, Calico will soon have a choice to make—hang on to her hard-won independence or put her faith in Quill to create the kind of happy ending she never imagined…

Mass Market Paperback: 384 pages 
Publisher: Berkley (April 7, 2015)
Genre: Historical Western Romance

A Reader's Opinion
I'm a new fan of Jo Goodman! When it comes to enjoying a story, I look primarily at the story itself and the characters. In the case of This Gun for Hire, both were a hit. I spent a couple of lazy weekend mornings in bed just to finish, and it was well worth my time. I love Quill McKenna as the hero. He is just the right amount of tough and tender. Calico Nash makes for an interesting heroine, and her chemistry with Quill is spot on. I enjoyed the conversations with between the primary and secondary characters; plenty of humor and sarcasm. You do have to pay attention or you might miss who is saying what, but the witty dialogue was perfect. 

This was the first book I read by Goodman, but I went out and ordered three more of her books after I finished This Gun for Hire.

Content Note: I'll admit that there was far more in the sex department than I thought necessary, and there were enough pages to skip over without losing any story. Having said that, did I mention the great chemistry between the hero and heroine? The build-up was well done. Normally that much unnecessary sex in a book would knock it down a point for me, but this is still a five-star read in this reader's opinion. 
The Author
Jo Goodman is a USA Today bestselling author who has written multiple series, including the Hamilton Family series and the Thorne Brothers series. Jo lives in West Virginia. 



No comments:

Post a Comment